

SEND Voices Wokingham AGM 2020 & Ofsted/CQC Local Area Inspection 1 Year On – An Update from WBC

Wednesday 4th March 2020, St Annes Manor, Wokingham 7.30pm

Minutes

1. Welcome and apologies

Present: Lynn Bobba, Nikki Chapman, Suzanne Chatt, Sarah Clarke, Stephen Clover, Vicky Connell, Kevin Connell, Helen Corbett, Sarah Dare, Amanda Darkins, Jemma Dimmick, Jo Dixon, Alex Elliott, Claire Finch, Stuart Hine, Debbie Jacobs, Jacky Mackenzie, Jo Mattocks, Balie Moriarty, Judith Newman, Kathy Rzysko, Yvonne Sharp, Imalka Slaughter, Terri Walsh, Jasmine Walters

Sal Thirlway & Kelli Scott – WBC – who presented. Cllr Ullakarin Clark – Executive Member for Children's Services

Apologies: Martin Jones

2. Chairs Welcome

Sarah Clarke (Chair) welcomed everyone to the AGM

3. Minutes of the last AGM

The minutes of the last AGM, 6th March 2019, were approved without any changes.

4. Chair's Report (presentation attached)

Sarah highlighted that it had been an exceptionally busy year following Wokingham's WSoA and this had resulted in a change of plans. Highlights included the change of name to SEND Voices Wokingham, distribution of Max Cards to members, involvement in all 7 WSoA Workstreams, 1000+ committee hours, 250 WSoA hours. Sarah thanked the Committee and Emma McKeever (who has stepped down) for all their hard work and commitment.

5. Treasurers report (attached)

It was highlighted that we were successful in applying for an additional £18k discretionary grant to fund a number of training courses and the change of our name. However, there is a predicted under spend of this year's budget due to the change of work priorities and capacity following the WSoA and resulting 7 workstreams.

6. Election of officers

The following were nominated and elected (nominated and seconded ahead of the meeting) and approved at the meeting (slightly different structure with Co-Chairs, instead of one sole chair):

Co-Chairs: Sarah Clarke & Terri Walsh

Vice Chair: Helen Corbett Secretary: Aleca Rzysko Treasurer: Jacky Mackenzie

Committee Members: Judith Newman, Kathy Rzysko, Debbie Jacobs

Resignation – Emma McKeever resigned from the committee in October 2019

6. Any other business - Nothing to report.